Seeing Flags

Every time I am driving in the car with my daughter Rose she starts yelling, “Stop quick mom! You will never believe this flag.”

I have mixed feelings about dragging her into my obsession, on one hand I am glad that she is alert, comprehending, and questioning but on the other hand I wish she could go on being a kid, not having to think so hard and question every image that is placed in front of her. But perhaps that is the problem we have all gone on, way too long, mindless, not questioning or speaking up about misleading information that has been placed in front of us.

Many people have started writing to me, telling they are seeing flags and patriotic imagery they never noticed before. Others are sending me images they have captured along the way. Here is one from Brian Butler. Brian is a senior at Massachusetts College of Art who, along with his friend Colby, has undertaken “Mini-Golf Across Massachusetts” a project archiving every mini-golf establishment across the commonwealth.>
minigolf.jpg

0 Responses to “Seeing Flags”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

